Irish Women's Bowling Association

Formed in 1947 the IWBA is the National Governing Body for the sport of women's bowls in Ireland.  Under it's umbrella it has four Associations, whose total of affiliated Clubs is 80, covering both Northern Ireland and the Republic of Ireland (where the Clubs are mainly located in the Dublin area). 

Each Association has its own league structure and cup competitions and meet annually in an Inter-Association tournament.

The IWBA aims, through the promotion of competition bowls, to enable players to develop their full potential at all levels, up to and including International representation. 

For those who are not so competitively minded, there is a place for recreational bowls at Club level and Clubs will welcome enquiries from prospective members.


Angeline Bradley
President 2020


Congratulations to BARBARA CAMERON on receiving the
BEM for services to Bowls in the Queen's Birthday Honours.

Let’s talk about keeping children safe in sport

Parents in Sport Week 2020 takes place 5–11 October. Run by the NSPCC Child Protection in Sport Unit (CPSU), Parents in Sport Week aims to highlight the important role parents play in youth sport, from helping to keep children safe, to encouraging them to take part and achieve.

As part of the campaign, the CPSU are asking sports parents to make the Sports Parents Promise – a 3-point pledge to their children to listen to them about their concerns, check clubs are safe to enjoy, and encourage their children to take part in a positive way.

They hope this will help parents to understand how their contribution to their child’s sport makes it a safer place for all children.

You can help support the CPSU and Parents in Sport Week by making the Sports Parents Promise on their website, where you can also find a wealth of helpful information about being a great sports parent and working with parents in sport. You can also support and follow the campaign on social media using the hashtag #ParentsinSportWeek2020

The Sports Parents Promise

  • I promise to listen to you if you have any concerns about your sport
  • I promise to learn how your club keeps you safe and what I can do to help
  • I promise to make sure that I set a good example and support you (and your teammates) in a positive way.
* * *

Covid-19 safe sport packs

Sport NI, in partnership with the Department for Communities, will today open the COVID Safe Sport Pack Programme for expressions of interest from eligible organisations to receive a pack. The programme aims to assist Sports organisations with their management of the ease of lockdown and a safe return to sport during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Click on link below for information on COVID-19 safe sports packs

*  important Notice  *

Below is a link to the Statement from the British Isles Women's Bowling Council. As you will see there have been changes made to the format of the International Series.  BIWBC have been having discussions during the past few months and it has been decided that the International Series format will change next year 2021.

The selectors will have to take some time re-selecting the 2021 Team and as soon as they have made their decision the Team will be posted on our website.

The Junior International Series in July 2021 will also change to the same format.  Manager Mandy Cunningham will be in touch directly with her U25 Team.

British Isles Championships remain the same and 2019 qualifiers will compete in Leamington on Friday/Saturday 18 & 19 June 2021. 

Gwen McCormick
IWBA Secretary

BIWBC Statement

* * *

The Revised Irish Bowling Federation Covid-19 Guidelines are on this website and Clubs have been working very hard preparing their rules to observe the regulations. Please be supportive of your Club and adhere to all that is being asked of you so that everyone stays safe.

Take care and and be respectful of each other and your Club.

Covid-19 Club Guidelines

* * *

Squad Announcements
The following players have been selected for the Elite Squad which will stay in place until the completion of the Commonwealth Games in 2022.
Elite Squad Elite Squad
Sam Barkley
Stuart Bennett
Stephen Kirkwood
Andy Kyle
Simon Martin
Jack Moffat
Ian McClure
Martin McHugh
Adam McKeown
Alan Paul
Aaron Tennant
Mark Wilson
Catherine Beattie
Megan Devlin
Sarah Kelly
Megan Morrow
Shauna O'Neill
Ashleigh Rainey
Lara Reaney
Courtney Wright
** Gary Kelly – The Selectors reserve the right to select Gary Kelly at any stage through the lifetime of this Squad, however Gary will remain in Australia during this time **
The following Emerging Squads will stay in place until the completion of the Commonwealth Games in 2022.
Emerging Squad Emerging Squad
Mitchell Albert
Ryan Cavan
Cameron Gaw
Cahal Gillen
Matthew Hastings
Robert Kirkwood
Ryan McElroy
Dean Mills
Colum O'Brien
Jordan Rankin
Adam Rankin
Adam Stratton
Laura Cassells
Katherine Houston
Sophie McIntyre
Allana McKee
Zoe Minish
Mia Patterson
Beth Whittle
Chloe Wilson

The Selectors reserve the right to add or remove players to these Squads throughout this period.

Players should confirm their acceptance with Neil Booth on 07834958136 by text.

World Bowls Championships deferred until September 2021 ... (read more)

* * *

Champion of Champions event will now be held in New Zealand in 2021 and
2022.   The dates are 20-27 November 2021 and 19-26 November 2022


IWBA Constitution/Rules

*  *  *

IWBA Past Presidents

*  *  *

Tom Sutton Rose Bowl

* * *

Honours / Photos

* * *

International Players since 1983 - download from the 'Internationals' page

* * *

International Venues

* * *

Tournament Licence

* * *

BIWBC Draws: 2019 & 2020

* * *

IWBA Policies